The York University chapter of Alpha Chi, the collegiate national honor society, inducted seven new members at a ceremony in the Bartholomew Performing Arts Center, April 17.

New members inducted included undergraduate students Timberly Carr (Henderson, Neb.),   Makayla Dinkler (Bladen, Neb.), Madison Gookin (Rye, Colo.), Allison Myers (Kansas City, Mo.), Maryn Phillips (Topeka, Kans.), Wagner Simoes Do Nascimento (Sedalia, Mo.), and Hannah Splattstoesser (Scottsbluff, Neb.).

Alpha Chi is an academic honor society that recognizes and promotes excellence in scholarship among college and university students of good character. Classified as a general honor society, meaning that it accepts members from all academic fields, Alpha Chi inducts no more than the top 10 percent of junior, senior, and graduate students at member institutions. Members receive recognition as distinguished students and members of one of the largest college honor societies in the world. 

Dr. Billy Lones, YU provost, congratulated the students as the first York University inductees into the honor society. Using a quote from B.B. King, Lones reminded them that their education never stops and becomes a part of them. “The beautiful thing about learning is nobody can take it away from you.”

Returning members of Alpha Chi are Riley Brown (Lincoln, Neb.), Samantha Crump (Newberg, Ore.), Laura-Kate Eckhart (York, Neb.), Eli Lane-Embray (St. Joseph, Mo.), Jordan Strong (Omaha, Neb.), Blayne Winkler (Lincoln, Neb.), and Bryce Winkler (Lincoln, Neb.).

Faculty sponsors Dr. Terry Seufferlein, professor of Bible, and Dr. Terence Kite, professor of physics, lead the York University chapter.


2023 Alpha Chi: (1st row) Madison Gookin, Allison Myers, Makayla Dinkler, Timberly Carr, Maryn Phillips, Hannah Splattstoesser; (2nd row) Eli Lane-Embray, Dr. Terry Seufferlein, Dr. Terence Kite - not pictured Wagner Simoes Do Nascimento