university president smiling

President Sam Smith

Dr. Samuel A. Smith began his service as the 21st president of York University in July 2020. President Smith is a 1995 graduate of York U and brings considerable experience in Christian higher education as well as youth ministry.

Read full Profile



University Senior Leadership

Samuel Smith
Ed.D. - Union University, 2010
M.A. - Lipscomb University, 2001
B.A. - Lipscomb University, 1998
A.A. - York University, 1995
Serving YU since 2020.


Shannon Leinen
Ph.D. - Regent University, 2017
M.Ed. - Concordia University-Nebraska, 2018
M.B.A. - Harding University, 2011
M.A. - Gonzaga University, 2009
B.A. - York University, 2007
Serving YU from 2007-2015 and since 2020. 

Vice President for Finance & Operations 
Todd Sheldon
M.B.A. - Harding University, 2001
B.B.A. - Harding University, 1983
A.A. - York University, 1981
Certified Public Accountant (inactive), 1985
Serving YU since 2003.
Vice President for Advancement 
Jared Stark
M.Ed. - Texas Tech University, 2005

B.A. - York University, 2001
​Serving YU from 2001-2003 and since 2005.

Athletic Director, Interim Vice President of Student Life
Garrett Schwarz
B.A. - York University, 2007
Serving YU since 2021. 

Vice President for Enrollment
Roni Miller
M.A. - York University, 2018
B.A. - York University, 2001
Serving YU from 2002-2005 and since 2014. 


"Whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things." ​Philippians 4:8

Board of Trustees

The York University Board of Trustees is comprised of business, professional, and civic leaders who demonstrate their confidence in the University's mission. The University administration works with the board to shape policy and direction for the University. The leadership of these men and women is greatly valued.

Chairman: Dr. R Wayne White

Vice Chairman: Mr. Richard W. James

Secretary: Mrs. Christine M. Eggar

Treasurer: Mr. E. Joe Brazell

  • Dr. Scott M. Abraham (and wife Beth) of Bucyrus, Kansas; Orthopedic Surgeon, Apex Orthopedics and Sports Medicine
  • Dr. Michael C. Armour (and wife Frances) of Dallas, Texas; President, Strategic Leadership Development International
  • Dr. Edward J. Bailey (and wife Louise) of Fort Worth, Texas; Attorney, Director of Immigration Legal Services, YMCA {retired}
  • Mr. E. Joe Brazell of Royse City, Texas; Digital Solutions Manager, Solomon Associates
  • Dr. Damon R. Cathey (and wife Paulette) of Nashville, Tennessee; Executive Principal, Metro Nashville Public School District
  • Mrs. Christine M. Eggar (and husband Shawn) of Wolf Point, Montana; Superintendent, Frontier School
  • Dr. Aaron G. Fletcher (and wife Holly)of Woodland Park, Colorado; Managing Director, Bios Partners; President, Bios Research
  • Dr. Jeffrey W. Hannel (and wife Lorena) of Lubbock, Texas; Physician, Providence Healthcare
  • Mr. Patrick W. Hendricks (and wife Janice) of Tulsa, Oklahoma;  Community Care of Oklahoma {retired}
  • Mrs. Kimberly M. Hoyt (and husband Darrell) of Grand Junction, Colorado;  Physician Assistant, Community Care of Grand Valley
  • Mrs. Conay L. Huizar (and husband Trent) of Scottsdale, Arizona;  Realtor Investment Strategist
  • Mr. Chester M. James (and wife Sharon) of Kingman, Kansas; Consultant, BESCORP {retired}
  • Mr. Richard W. James (and wife Rachel) of Wichita, Kansas; Partner and Attorney, DeVaughn James, LLC
  • Ms. Marilyn S. Locus of Laguna Niguel, California; Regional Human Resources Director, Cintas Corp
  • Mr. Bryan C. Phillips (and wife Cheri) of Topeka, Kansas; Accountant​, MIZE CPAS
  • Mr. Benjamin M. Smail (and wife Megan) of Omaha, Nebraska; Realtor, Better Homes and Gardens Real Estate
  • Mrs. Carolyn R. Stephenson (and husband Charles) of Lubbock, Texas; CPA, Robinson, Burdette, Martin & Seright, LLP​
  • Dr. Charles B. Stephenson (and wife Carolyn) of Lubbock, Texas; Professor, Lubbock Christian University
  • Mrs. Linda J. Thomas (and husband Joe) of Ogallala, Nebraska; Assistant Superintendent, Clinton Public Schools {retired}
  • Mr. Charlie J. Watts (and wife Mary Ann) of Eudora, Kansas; Superintendent, Eudora Public Schools {retired} 
  • Dr. R. Wayne White (and wife Karen) of Carrollton, Texas; Minister {retired}
  • Dr. Kimberly K. Williams (and husband Caleb) of Salina, Kansas; Physician, Family Medicine​​

Chancellor's Office

  • Dr. Steve Eckman of Hampton, Nebraska, Chancellor

Trustees Emeriti

​Trustees Emeriti are recognized and honored for their extraordinary service as past Board of Trustee members. 
  • Mr. Steven W. Belden (and wife Michele) of Murchison, Texas
  • Dr. Wilbur D. Dabbs (and wife Dawn) of Neosho, Missouri
  • Mr. H. Jarrell Gibbs of Collierville, Tennessee
  • Mr. Van R. Harrold (and wife Mary Ann) of Maize, Kansas​​
  • Dr. Jackie M. Humphrey (and husband Joe) of Lubbock, Texas
  • Mr. Edward E. McLoud (and wife Patricia) of Overland Park, Kansas
  • Mr. Ed G. Nill (and wife Linda) of Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
  • Mr. G. Wayne Studebaker (and wife Harriet) of Norfolk, Nebraska
  • Mr. Paul E. Touchton (and wife Cheryl) of Franklin, Tennessee

Chancellor Emeritus

  • Dr. R. Wayne Baker (and wife Darlene) of Montgomery, Alabama